PDA

View Full Version : Employment In The US

BoulderDawg
01-28-2010, 11:14 AM
This is a problem that's only going to get worse.

When I was an undergraduate I pulled a mini shift at a local cotton mill. I was talking to my boss one night (A guy that had been there over 40 years) about the old days. After the WW2 2,800 people worked in that mill. At the time I was there technology had advanced enough so that only 250 people were needed.......

It's a trend folks. One does not need to be a genius to recognize that advances in technology means a smaller labor pool while the population continues to rise.

Figure out a solution to that and you will be a god in this country!

Drake
01-28-2010, 11:31 AM

When I was an undergraduate I pulled a mini shift at a local cotton mill. I was talking to my boss one night (A guy that had been there over 40 years) about the old days. After the WW2 2,800 people worked in that mill. At the time I was there technology had advanced enough so that only 250 people were needed.......

It's a trend folks. One does not need to be a genius to recognize that advances in technology means a smaller labor pool while the population continues to rise.

Figure out a solution to that and you will be a god in this country!

It's already been figured out. Try reading some books.

1bad65
01-28-2010, 11:39 AM
For someone who hinted I was a threat to the President because of my beliefs, you sure sound alot like the Unibomber.

dimethylsea
01-28-2010, 11:39 AM
Obviously we need to develop new industries that employ people.

Alternative energy is a good one. Structuring the healthcare system so it employs more people rather than less (via the profit mechanism of increasing profits by denying care and cutting staff) would be a good start.

My personal belief has always been we should be trying to make nuclear power and aerospace the engines of "heavy industry" in our economy.