PDA

View Full Version : 3 section wall bag - any safety issues?

monkeyfoot
02-03-2010, 10:24 AM
Hello peeps

I just got hold of a wall bag and wanted to start encorporating it into my training. I have filled the top section with chickpeas, middle with sand, and the bottom with chickpeas also.

I wanted to know if there are any safety issues similar to iron palm training...is the wall bag inherently the same thing as iron palm? Should I use jow on my hands before and after using it? I'm a product designer so need to keep my hands in working condition so I can continue to be able to sketch/draw :)

So yea, just looking for some info

Cheers

Craig

mooyingmantis
02-04-2010, 01:11 PM
Craig,
If you are new to hand training, I would suggest sand in each bag and work up to beans. Dit da jow is also a good idea. Safety first!
With hand conditioning, slow is best in the long run.
If your hands are important for your work, as mine are for my work in the medical field, take the least risk possible with them.

Richard

David Jamieson
02-04-2010, 02:02 PM
Just to confuse things for you, I would suggest you do NOT use sand at all, it compacts to a concretion and is not good for conditioning hands because it is no longer movable at that point.

fill them all with beans.
use them til teh beans are dust.
then fill them with smooth small river pebbles
use them until those are dust
fill them with bb's or iron shot afetr lining the bag with leather to prevent inhalation of metal dust.

bang away.

mooyingmantis
02-04-2010, 03:25 PM
Just to confuse things for you, I would suggest you do NOT use sand at all, it compacts to a concretion and is not good for conditioning hands because it is no longer movable at that point.

fill them all with beans.
use them til teh beans are dust.
then fill them with smooth small river pebbles
use them until those are dust
fill them with bb's or iron shot afetr lining the bag with leather to prevent inhalation of metal dust.

bang away.