PDA

View Full Version : RealPlayer Vid Clip - Sil Lum Jow Gar Form!

nospam
01-23-2000, 11:26 PM
Flying Mantis (http://www.kvi.net/~redgate/martialartsgates.html)

Vist the above site for:

Flying Mantis, a Shaolin Jow Gar Kung Fu form. ( 545kb / 21 seconds ) Need Real Player.

Comments from you Mantis folk?

chich
01-24-2000, 03:41 AM
While I am fairly new to the CMA, and have NO experience in Northern Mantis, I just have to say that that set/form was truly amazing, the footwork, technique and speed were simply great...Others may disagree, but it was worthwhile downloading it!

------------------
The Silver Fox

Kung Lek
01-26-2000, 12:51 AM
Hey, the kid is good.

I'm sure he will develop into a very good martial artist.
I looked through his site and thought that this kid is mature beyond his years.
He definitely has a good attitude and his content shows his respect for his art and teachers.
As for the form,I am guessing that this is a beginners form or an intermediate form from the system.
Anybody?

------------------
Kung Lek

01-26-2000, 02:49 AM
I'm pretty darn impressed with the kid, too.

As for the form. I don't know it myself, but it's not an advanced form--I'd say more of a beginner/nearing intermediate form. Nice foot work, but I'd like to see him slow down a little, work on some of those stances (his knee was out of alignment on some), make those kicks count, and really show the form rather than the speed--but, man, he is fast! Our fourteen year old does that, too--sacrifices some in form for speed, maybe it's the age.

Although, I'm guilty of that myself sometimes, actually. I guess I'm fourteen at heart.

nospam
01-26-2000, 09:19 PM
Great comments on the speed issue. That's what I thought while watching him. But as commented, it is not unique to this dude.