PDA

View Full Version : any plum blossom fist practitioners out there?

David M
06-08-2000, 02:15 PM
I studied a southern family style art similar to Tsoi Lay Fut for 8 years. Now I am studying with a very good Sifu from Shandong, in Northern Longfist, 8 step PM, 7 star PM and plum blossom fist PM. Can anyone tell me the real differences between these styles, practically. I am just starting the Praying Mantis forms, and the info would be very much appreciated. My Sifu is very traditional, and I have other questions to raise with him when the rare chance comes to chat with him. Many thanks! :-)

bamboo_ leaf
06-11-2000, 03:27 AM
My first teacher taught plum flower in Korea,
he never really spoke much, weather this was due to the language or
maybe it was just his way hard to say.
The main differences that I can see between 7-star and plum flower
is that the 7-star seems to be a more direct and straight-line art.
Med to small range movements using small circles in the hand forms
very quick direct attacks.
The plum flower that I learned makes use
of larger circles in the hand forms; the form movements comparatively
speaking are med to large. It also uses more of the waist in its
movements.The idea and form seem
to be more circular in its approach to combat.

Otherwise most of the movements seem to be the same, I hope this helps.

------------------
enjoy life

bamboo leaf

[This message has been edited by bamboo_ leaf (edited 06-11-2000).]

laughing tiger
06-14-2000, 05:52 AM
many thanks, Bamboo leaf! I always enjoy your posts :-)

bamboo_ leaf
06-14-2000, 12:27 PM
thanks

------------------
enjoy life

bamboo leaf

Michael Dasargo
06-14-2000, 01:30 PM
David,

Ba Bu Tang Lang Quan was derived from the Mui Hua Tang Lang system. Jiang Hua Long(aka Ghost Hands) feared that the footwork of Tang Lang would not carry over into his elder years. So after cross refrencing the footwork of Ba Kua and Tom Pei, Jiang Hua Long created 8 Step.