PDA

View Full Version : Why is your Wing Chun useless in the open range?

Pacman
04-02-2010, 04:40 PM
I thought I'd start this topic instead of hijacking another thread :)

this question is for those who feel WC cannot handle long range. please explain why you feel that way.

I am not an expert in other's WC, but from what I have seen some of the fundamental things that could lead to a disadvantage at an open range are

1. fighting in a completely squared off pigeon toed stance, body upright, flatfooted. this probably comes from an abuse of the rooting concept and people want to fight like this. this leads to a lack of mobility, lateral and forward, that will put you at a great disadvantage. hard to get in close when you cannot move easily.

2. not turning the body when punching. again keeping that squared off stance. this leads to a lack of reach.

YouKnowWho
04-02-2010, 05:32 PM
not turning the body when punching.

This is a tradeoff and not weakness. If you don't turn your body and remain 90 degree angle between your arms and your chest, you can land your "chain punches" many times on your opponent's face before he knows what has just happened. If you turn your body, you may land a much more powerful punch but just one punch and not many punches.

I don't know which experience is more scary, your opponent knocks you out by one punch, or your opponent hits your face 7 times and you can't do anything about it.

Matrix
04-02-2010, 06:47 PM
1. fighting in a completely squared off pigeon toed stance. this probably comes from an abuse of the rooting concept and people want to fight like this. this leads to a lack of mobility, lateral and forward, that will put you at a great disadvantage. hard to get in close when you cannot move easily.Who fights like this? Nobody I know.

Phil Redmond
04-02-2010, 07:06 PM
Who fights like this? Nobody I know.
Thanks Matix. You took the words right out of my mouth.

Phil Redmond
04-02-2010, 07:08 PM