PDA

View Full Version : Mantis fingers...

laughing tiger
06-17-2000, 03:54 AM
Got a question for you Mantis practitioners. Since my years of training have been in 2 southern styles and I am new to Northern Mantis, I would love some feedback. In my new school, my Sifu teaches us to perform a mantis hand (in forms) a bit differently than what I see some others do in pictures. I see people with their pointer and middle fingers opened up...and their thumb behind them about halfway up the fingers. My Sifu has us put the fingers together, with the thumb just about a 3rd of an inch from the fingertips. He claims it's less pretty, but more application-ready. I am not saying someone is wrong, I am just curious as to your thoughts on this. Thanks! :-)

mantisgirl
06-17-2000, 04:09 AM
hi laughing tiger! In my school it is the way you described in the pictures you've seen. Thumb is placed about half way up between the index and the middle fingers with the two fingers spread apart. Now the way you do it might be part of your style. Every style has its own thing including mantis. That's just my opinion i tried doing mantis the way you explained and found it rather hard. But i'm no expert.

YES
06-17-2000, 08:29 AM
Laughing Tiger:

I too use the mantis hand you first described. It looks sort of like a hand with faned out fingers. Who is your sifu?
I've seen Raul Ortiz use his mantis hand like your sifu described.

------------------
YES says, "You, yourself are your only Teacher."

YES

Paul Skrypichayko
06-17-2000, 09:32 AM
I have been told that the reason for the typical northern mantis hand being the way it is, is because the index finger is used more in sensing and point striking. A grab with all 4 fingers is very strong, but a little slow compared to a mantis grab which is much faster and a little weaker.

Maybe Mantis108 or Mr. Dasargo can clarify for us?

laughing tiger
06-17-2000, 01:29 PM