PDA

View Full Version : New to WC

shaolin_allan
06-10-2010, 06:20 PM
Hi everyone I am a new student to wing chun. I have been training for a few months in it and have learned slim lum tao as well as its applications. I am slowly moving onto new stuff as well as just beginning escrima. Does anyone have any good training tips for me? Also I was just noticing that there are some definite differences between lineages in both training and formwork, would you agree?

YungChun
06-10-2010, 06:28 PM
Hi everyone I am a new student to wing chun. I have been training for a few months in it and have learned slim lum tao as well as its applications.

Hi...

There are many differences among Chunners.

Can you tell us about some of the SLT applications you've learned..?

shaolin_allan
06-10-2010, 06:36 PM
Sure. We have worked beginner stuff such as wrist grabs and chokes from the front and behind, as well as kick defenses using bong sao and tan sao etc.. followed by springing in with a punch. I have also been learning to use kicks such as jeet gerk and doing the 2 person drill I think is called kwok sao? using fuk sao followed by punching through crossing the bridge. What stuff did you learn as a beginner?

YungChun
06-10-2010, 06:41 PM
Sure. We have worked beginner stuff such as wrist grabs and chokes from the front and behind, as well as kick defenses using bong sao and tan sao etc.. followed by springing in with a punch. I have also been doing the 2 person drill I think is called kwok sao? usinf fuk sao followed by punching through crossing the bridge. What stuff did you learn as a beginner?

Very different.. For example I have no idea what you mean by a kwok sao drill.

As a beginner I learned:

The punch.. The first form.. The classical pak drill... The idea of centerline...

shaolin_allan
06-10-2010, 06:46 PM