PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone!

Iron_Lung
07-06-2010, 12:58 PM
Hi there everybody!

Just wanted to introduce myself to the board. I am new to the world of martial arts even though I have held an interest in it since I was very young. Did a very short stint in Tang Soo Do as a youth and now am a new member of a school that teaches a very unique style of White Crane Kung Fu. I am really enjoying it and am really excited to learn about not only my style and school, but martial arts in general.

Anyways, if this thread is not needed or in the wrong place or whatever, feel free to delete. Just wanted to greet everyone formally and say hello. Inquiries welcome! Peace!

sanjuro_ronin
07-06-2010, 01:00 PM
Welcome, stay a while, have some tea, maybe a few laughs but always remember this:
The MA is a PERSONAL journey and as such, whatever path YOU CHOOSE will always be right for YOU if you enjoy it and are getting what you want out of it.
Have a sense of humour about this place and never, ever take it personally.

SanHeChuan
07-06-2010, 01:09 PM
Why is it unique? :D

Iron_Lung
07-06-2010, 01:37 PM
Why is it unique? :D

From what I have been told, only my Sigong graduated with enough material to teach and he was the only person in America teaching this style when he came from China. He has since passed and as far as I know, there are only two people who reached instructor level under my Sigong. One of them is my Sifu. Our style is a blending of Choy Lay Fut and Tibetan White Crane.

David Jamieson
07-06-2010, 01:40 PM
so what's the style called?

Iron_Lung
07-06-2010, 01:42 PM
TOISAN White Crane

taai gihk yahn
07-06-2010, 01:46 PM
TOISAN White Crane

and who, may I ask, is your sigung?

David Jamieson
07-06-2010, 01:46 PM
So it's Bai He from Toisan?

I learned a black tiger style that comes from toisan.

MasterKiller
07-06-2010, 01:48 PM
and who, may I ask, is your sigung?

http://i46.tinypic.com/fz9mh0.jpg

taai gihk yahn
07-06-2010, 01:51 PM