PDA

View Full Version : Ou-Der Kun Tao ???

Yao Sing
07-10-2010, 03:23 PM
Anyone know anything about this style? Supposed to be Chinese based in Taiwan but doesn't sound like it to me.

I stumbled across a website for Traditional Temple Training (http://www.traditionaltempletraining.com/)and the bio says:

"I was greatly privileged to have been a student of Grand Master Frank Masiello, the highest ranking Master of the Ou-Der Kun Tao (Way of Military Virtue) style in the United States. He trained in Taiwan under the Head Master of the style (Hung Dai Shi), travelling China in the early 1960's, becoming a six province Mainland China Champion in full contact matches. I hold a 5th Degree Master rank in the Ou-Der Kun Tao style."

Anyone familiar with these names?

Also Lo-Chi-Shou, claimed to be a Shaolin style.

cerebus
07-10-2010, 04:32 PM
Ou-Der Kun Tao? Way of the stinky fist? :D

cerebus
07-10-2010, 04:37 PM
Travelling through mainland China fighting full-contact matches in the 60s? Not saying it isn't true, but.... there weren't ANY Americans being allowed into mainland China in the '60s, much less being allowed to go around fighting with/ beating up Communist comrades ....

goju
07-10-2010, 04:50 PM
didnt the dethouars brothers largely bring that sttyle over here?

Dale Dugas
07-10-2010, 05:06 PM
Wu De Kun Tao. Horrible pin yin transliteration.

Never have heard of it.

Lots of Grandmaster this and Grandmaster talk on the web page.

red flags a rising.....

mooyingmantis
07-10-2010, 06:03 PM
Travelling through mainland China fighting full-contact matches in the 60s? Not saying it isn't true, but.... there weren't ANY Americans being allowed into mainland China in the '60s, much less being allowed to go around fighting with/ beating up Communist comrades ....

Very true, U.S. relations didn't open up with China until President Nixon's administration paved the way in 1970.

Yao Sing
07-10-2010, 06:49 PM
I especially liked this: