PDA

View Full Version : "Eight Postures of Shaolin"

Aristocles
07-19-2010, 09:56 PM
First:

This is my first post, so, 'hello' to all.

In the book: "Asian Fighting Arts", on page 47, it states that plates 6,7 show "the eight basic postures of shaolin". These are demonstrated by Kao Fang-hsien, according to page 46. (Pages refer to the 1974 softcover edition.)

My question is exactly what is meant by "eight basic postures of shaolin"? It seems odd as thee are so many postures, styles, et. al., that I cannot get a fix on his meaning. He (the author of that section of text) does not seem to explain. Does it mean that these are the sort rudimentary postures upon which others are built?

I am an utter beginner although I spent a couple years in a very traditional TKD studio as a youth, so please bear with me.

I am an Aristotelian in the sense of believing that well begun is half done, so I am just doing conditioning basics and some reading. I spent most of my adult life as a competitive powerlifter and am now suffering somewhat, because of it- but one sacrifices for success, I suppose. I know have much weight to lose and am less than flexible. Anyway. . .

Thank you for your indulgence. Nice to be here

LFJ
07-20-2010, 06:29 PM
hi and welcome.

i'm not familiar with the book, but the term "eight postures of shaolin" brings to mind two possibilities. one is the "eight section brocade" (baduanjin) which is a shaolin qigong set of eight breathing and stretching exercises. the other is the eight basic stances (babu) which are taught by most traditional masters and studied as foundational postures upon which all else is built.

Aristocles
07-20-2010, 08:50 PM
The latter explanation makes perfect sense.

Thank you.

David Jamieson
07-21-2010, 05:52 AM
8 postures of shaolin is jingang bashi

see here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DS5ISjT1XqU

:)

GeneChing
07-21-2010, 10:19 AM