PDA

View Full Version : End the Debate... What makes a Style?

MightyB
08-05-2010, 07:31 AM
I have a proposition.

IMO Every "style" only has a few key identifying techniques. I studied 7* for years. As I look at it, to me 7* is only diu (hook), ou lou chou (hook, control, punch as one motion), tu sau (intercepting hand as a linking technique), and fan che (overhand strikes). (might throw in "waist chopping" or yu jom). Those are pretty much it as far as unique to 7* movements. Everything else is in everything else.

So here's the proposition. To me, how can you say you're 7* or a master of 7* if you cannot demonstrate the key movements under pressure? Makes things plain and simple - you are not a sifu if you cannot, you're a LARPER. If all styles adopt this mindset, then TCMA is better for it. Instead we have so much garbage... too many forms and too much tea house philosophies that we think make a sifu. They don't. Application of skill matters.

So, what makes a style? Do you agree with my opinion? Why, why not?

hskwarrior
08-05-2010, 07:53 AM
A car is only a car. it cannot drive itself. it is the PERSON that makes any style.

MightyB
08-05-2010, 07:56 AM
A car is only a car. it cannot drive itself. it is the PERSON that makes any style.

no answer...? you said nothing. The question is "What, for you, defines a style?".

I don't even think so much in terms of style anymore. Not being a BL wannabe, just saying that the concept of style isn't defined very well and is more of a problem than anything.

lkfmdc
08-05-2010, 07:59 AM
IMO Every "style" only has a few key identifying techniques. I studied 7* for years. As I look at it, to me 7* is only diu (hook),

This exists in MANY styles

ou lou chou (hook, control, punch as one motion),

Seen eagle claw much :D again, not "unique" to mantis

and fan che (overhand strikes).

According to late 7 star master Jew Luen, this is actually Faan Ji Myuhn technique, "stolen" for mantis :D