PDA

View Full Version : Have an interview tomorrow regarding an english teaching job in China

Giuseppe_S
08-23-2010, 11:05 AM
And Iam a little worried, I have no teaching experience what so ever, and the level of english i'll be teaching (should i be successful in my interview) will be basic/beginners english aimed at primary/middle school.
The thing is I am really nervous i'm not too sure what to expect and feel like backing off as like most people i fear the unknown.
Like I said I have no teaching experience what so ever, the city i will be teaching should I get the job is called Zhejiang.
Any help would be appreciated.

Regards

Giuseppe

Kansuke
08-25-2010, 07:39 AM
1) Stop being such a wuss.

2) Work on your own English before presuming to teach others.

3) If you have a college degree and a pulse chances are pretty good you'll get the job.

Drake
08-25-2010, 07:44 AM
I'm afraid I have to agree with Kansuke on this one.

taai gihk yahn
08-25-2010, 09:25 AM
if you have no pedagogical experience, you are in for one heck of a ride, lol...

and teaching English is NOTHING like speaking it - for example, do you know what a "gerund" is? how about the "past-perfect" tense? use of active versus passive voice in writing? I'm guessing none of the above...yet all germaine to teaching grammar and usage...

ok, so you are teaching grade students and maybe this stuff won't come up, but the point is that without any formal training, you are woefully underqualified; for example, how to structure a lesson plan, generate assignments, grade work, deal w/different learning types, deal with CHINESE students and their cultural context...

that said, if you are a self-starter and autodidact type, get your sh1t together, prep for a few months before you go (e.g. - get some books / look around online for course materials), do some homework on basic pedagogical skills, read up on Chinese social mores, learn a little Mandarin, you might be able to pull it off;