PDA

View Full Version : generating power vrs. speed

LongfistMantis
10-05-2000, 02:58 AM
Keeping in mind that I am a beginner, I was practicing my first form which includes two backhand strikes in a row, using the movement of the waist to generate power. I was wondering what your thoughts were on power versus speed. It seems that if i concentrate on power, I do increase the force of my strikes, but I also require more time to chamber and deliver the strike. On the other hand, if i concentrate on thet speed aspect, I can get many strikes off in a small amount of time, but they seem to have less force behind them. I suppose there is a happy medium, but I havent found it yet. What are your thoughts?

LongfistManti /infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

bitesfirst
10-05-2000, 04:10 AM
Power = Mass x SPeed. It is easier to generate more speed then it is to gain more mass in the striking limb. In the begining, don't worry too much about power. It'll come.

Robinf
10-05-2000, 03:32 PM
I'll second that point. Speed can traslate into power.

Take, for example, breaking a break with a punch. It can be done with a lot of muscle/power, it can also be done with speed/power.

Concentrate on making the technique properly, then stop thinking about it and just execute the technique. Thinking also slows down and inhibits the power of the technique.

Surrender yourself to nature and be all that you are.

BeiTangLang
10-05-2000, 04:25 PM
Verify from your sifu that they are actually strikes. If they are, there is a good chance that you may not be moving your body forward enough & turning your torso enough to "automaticly-reset" (for lack of a better term) your arm/wrists for the second strike.
Just a thought. Excellent question!
-BTL

"Ever dance with the Devil in the pale moonlight?"

Young Mantis
10-05-2000, 04:57 PM