PDA

View Full Version : Weapons? What's best?

gunbeatskroty
10-07-2010, 10:16 AM
What's a good system for weapons training?

I'm looking to learn weapons. Specifically straight sword & spear.

I've never done weapons before other than playing around with nunchuks as a kid.

I'd like to learn the straight forward, killing, slashing techniques, countering, etc. w/no fancy stuff. Just straight to business in the fewest moves as possible. Thanks. :confused:

Dragonzbane76
10-07-2010, 10:17 AM
buy a gun... end of story.

gunbeatskroty
10-07-2010, 10:56 AM
buy a gun... end of story.

dude, i have AK-47s, pistols, etc. i just want to learn sword & spear fighting.

KC Elbows
10-07-2010, 12:59 PM
If you're looking in kung fu, the best at applying spear I've seen were from hsing yi, though I suspect some schools are better than others.

Either case, you need a school that is not basing training on just knowing a form, but actual usage.

David Jamieson
10-07-2010, 01:04 PM
dude, i have AK-47s, pistols, etc. i just want to learn sword & spear fighting.

buy a dvd.

take up fencing.

I can't think of any kung fu teacher that would start anyone with weapons.

for me, the reasons are obvious, but for someone outside looking in, not so much. prepare to be disappointed if you do find someone who is willing to give you weapons sets without the underlying skills development required.

Otherwise, yeah, stick to guns. lol

alterantely, you could go learn escrima or kali and those introduce stick fighting etc early on in the regimen.

sanjuro_ronin
10-07-2010, 01:09 PM
Does it have to be TCMA ??

David's suggesting of DVD is not a bad one.
Weapons are all about the feel and an instructor can give you some pointers to cut the learning curve, but if you do test cutting you'll find that out quick enough too.
In the end, unless you are looking for something practical, it's all in fun anyways.

SanHeChuan
10-07-2010, 01:20 PM