PDA

View Full Version : Isshin-Ryu?

Black Jack
01-14-2001, 11:49 PM
I was wondering if any of you who have experiance with the Isshin-Ryu system of karate can give me a description of its common methods and principles that a person may see a Isshin-Ryu fighter use?

I know the system is supposed to be very self defense focused and the result of blending both Goju-Ryu and Shorin-Ryu.

What types of ranges or movements does this system work with the most and what are some of it's signature tools.

I know that they use a vertical fist over the standard karate striking fist and was wondering what else is there?

Just curious and thank you in advance.

Regards

rogue
01-15-2001, 12:06 AM
I'm a newbie to it Black Jack and I'm just learning the 15 upper body excercises but here goes. Another feature is the way an Isshinryu fellow will block, he'll use the meaty part of the forarm and not the inner or outer boney parts. I find this method of blocking faster.

Any reason why you're asking?

Black Jack
01-15-2001, 12:15 AM
I met a 4th degree Isshin-Ryu blackbelt a few days ago who impressed me with some of his handwork and in doing so made my interest shoot up in the style thats all.

I find it interesting to understand those I meet and the styles they represent.

Do you mean that you find the narrow part faster for blocking or the meaty part? I am more of a open handed blocking kind of guy if I am going to use a block.

If you would not mind what type of upperbody excercises are you in reference to in general what do you think of what you have seen so far?

Thanks again bud. ;)

Regards

rogue
01-15-2001, 12:43 AM
The upper body excercises are the basics. The meaty part. Instead of thumb or pinky out in a side block the back of your hand would be outermost. It seems to have fewer moving parts than a traditional block. So far it complements my TKD.
Sidenote: There is a lot of politics in the system, it's like Wing Chun or Mantis in white PS's :)

Kung Lek