PDA

View Full Version : Information on 5 Animals - Ark Wong's style and ranks

Grasshopper101
10-25-2010, 02:40 PM
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on the forum. I wanted to know if anyone can give me some insight on Ark Wong's Five Animals sash ranks.

The reason I am asking is because I've known a gentleman for a while now that claimed that he was a master under Ark Wong, and earned a red sash.

However, from the information I've been able to gather online is that a red sash is a middle rank - below a black sash, and certainly not a master.

The gentleman also claims that he trained for five years until he got his black sash, and an additional four years to earn his red sash, specializing in praying mantis.

I asked him about what I red online about the red sash thing, and he claims that the ranking system must have been changed, and that when he was there it was a rank reserved for a "master" rank.

Can anybody answer this for me? I also have the gentleman's name if anybody that trained under Ark Wong back then (I'm not 100% on the years - somewhere in either the late 1960's thru the 1970's) that might recognize his name and if they knew him or not. I was going to post his name, but decided to wait and see how the forum members feel about that sort of thing before I did.

Thank you

David Jamieson
10-26-2010, 05:58 AM
sashes are all over the map when it comes to which one is highest rank etc.

anyway, some schools have gold as the highest, some schools use stripes on black and some schools have red as the highest.

It's not a set pattern of ranking all the time in every style and it is only ever relevant within the style alone.

a black sash in a kung fu style doesn't map over to karate or jujitsu etc.

There's a couple of guys here who trained with Ark Wong.
I'm sure they will respond.

I believe one guy is named Jim and the other is Ron and maybe one or two more.

anyway, why the public investigation?

jdhowland
10-26-2010, 08:16 AM