PDA

View Full Version : A paradigm shift for this forum and some mysterious history

MysteriousPower
11-04-2010, 08:30 AM
I was first introduced to tcma when I started training with a deadly street fighting Chinese sifu from a Chinatown. He gave off the air of being dangerous and that we were all training to gain the same air of dangerousness. He abhorred other styles even other tcma styles. The fact that he was: 1) Mentally tough, 2) Crazy, and 3) Engaged in a lot of fighting in a time when DNA evidence was not used was the reason he was tough. His kung fu training was the icing on the cake. He could have studied boxing and been as dangerous. That is not the point. THe point is that I was introduced to tcma as something special, better, and made me more dangerous than others doing other kinds of training. The training involved drilling, forms, spinny hand bridging drills, and virtually no sparring.

Later on I started studying with a group of really nice guys. They were mma guys who had no ego, no reputation, and only hard training in their backgrounds. They were so skilled I believe they could have run through my old sifu and any of his top students. This is a painful truth for me to state because my old sifu was very dear to me but there it is. They trained hard and had real skills that could be tested instead of me just standing there while you pretend to poke my eye out.

That is the history and here is the paradigm shift.