PDA

View Full Version : Throws of the north?

Northwind
11-04-2010, 07:45 PM
I've seen recent threads within posts that bring mention of throws within TCMA (at least there's a minute thank you to mma guys), and I see people talking about them. A couple of people compare them to the Japanese arts and use Japanese terminology - for me this means nothing as I've no experience with Japanese throwing arts.

However, being a Northern Shaolin practitioner, I find a lot of throws etc. in our systems and can see that other Northern styles/sub-styles would have similar.

I guess my question is ... is this a northern thing? Or do some southern systems also have these little goodies in there as well?

SPJ
11-04-2010, 08:03 PM
Shuai jiao is popular in the north. Qing court had shuai jiao camp. Most if not all northern styles also train shuai jiao. It is like tan tui incorporated in all northern styles. Moslem, Mongolian shuai jiao etc were all merged.

----

:)

Northwind
11-04-2010, 08:06 PM
Although I agree that many northern styles have throws (like my original posit), I would not say that "Most if not all northern styles also train shuai jiao". That I pretty strongly disagree with (unless you are using the name of a style to represent symbolically a type of technique). The first throws etc. I learned came from Tan Tui, so I definitely like your inclusion of it here.

Still curious to know if any southern systems have this type of thing in them or not, as my exposure to southern styles is limited.

YouKnowWho
11-04-2010, 08:13 PM
I've seen recent threads within posts that bring mention of throws within TCMA (at least there's a minute thank you to mma guys),
First, I brought that subject up and I'm 100% TCMA guy. There is no need to thanks to MMA guys. The "throwing skill" is not emphasized in MMA. It's emphasized in Chinese Sanshou/Sanda (1 point for kick/punch, 2 points for throw). It will be interested to list all the throws that we can find in the northern CMA system.