PDA

View Full Version : Question for all Instructors: What made you want to teach?

Iron_Eagle_76
12-08-2010, 07:01 AM
For those here who are Sifus, Instructors, Coaches, ect. what made you want to teach? I'm just curious as to what point in your journey in martial arts did you decide to teach.

For me personally I wanted to give others the oppourtunity to learn the things I have and add something to the system.

ginosifu
12-08-2010, 07:28 AM
I could not pin point any reason. I just started out liking helping others during class, while I was a student. I would see people struggling with a technique and I would feel compelled to go help them. Eventually my teacher asked me if I wanted to become an instructor.

The rest is history.

ginosifu

xcakid
12-08-2010, 07:46 AM
I could not pin point any reason. I just started out liking helping others during class, while I was a student. I would see people struggling with a technique and I would feel compelled to go help them. Eventually my teacher asked me if I wanted to become an instructor.

The rest is history.

ginosifu

That is pretty much my story as well. :)

David Jamieson
12-08-2010, 08:32 AM
I have little or no desire for teaching. :-)

I do like to exchange with individuals who already know something.

I especially don't like teaching kids. lol

I think you guys that do teach kids are ok in my books. I really can't be bothered with that sort of thing. Plus the whole "coming of age" period, I am not interested in that either.

Just old school boys club type stuff. :)

MightyB
12-08-2010, 08:41 AM
I have little or no desire for teaching. :-)

I do like to exchange with individuals who already know something.

I especially don't like teaching kids. lol

I think you guys that do teach kids are ok in my books. I really can't be bothered with that sort of thing. Plus the whole "coming of age" period, I am not interested in that either.

Just old school boys club type stuff. :)