PDA

View Full Version : kung fu degree

plummantisgeek
01-04-2011, 12:25 PM
okay so im a soldier if afghanistan, and i practice plum blossom mantis daily. i love it. i started practicing in korea four years ago and now i cant stop. anyway when my deployment is over i would like to live off of the post 911 gi bill and get a degree, but i dont care about getting a degree that gives me a good job (please no responses with degree or carreer advice i get that shallow crap enough from my sergeants.) i just want to study kung fu but i have to go to an accredited college to get my gi bill. anyone know of a university with degree plans in martial arts or even just a good kung fu club. oh and the gi bill will pay for foriegn colleges so anywhere in the world would be okay. thanks for the help.

SanHeChuan
01-04-2011, 12:42 PM
I remember a few questionable "degrees" being posted here before. I'll have a look. Found it (http://forum.kungfumagazine.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-40198.html).

Your best bet would be in china at Beijing sports university (http://www.chinastudyabroad.org/bsuuniv.aspx) or some place similar.

You could go to OSU and join the Shaui Chiao Club (http://www.osukungfu.com/drweng.html), or any University that has a big Kung Fu club.

Other Links

University of Bridgeport (http://www.bridgeport.edu/academics/undergraduate/martialarts/)

Indiana University (http://www.indiana.edu/~martial/certificate.php)

Amerstate University (http://www.auwi.org/)

Martial Arts as a College Degree (http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art58536.asp)

David Jamieson
01-04-2011, 12:59 PM
A kung fu degree will get you exactly no where in North America.
It's literally meaningless here.

In China, you could get a degree, but it would be in competitive wushu for the most part and allow you to instruct there, etc etc. I'm sure more guys here could help you to understand that aspect of China's school system. I could be wrong, but I think it's all about the wu shu there.