PDA

View Full Version : Possibly taking up Wing Chun in Arizona

Striker
01-10-2011, 08:37 PM
Hello all and thank you for welcoming me aboard.

I am a past student of Ed Parker American Kenpo (EPAK), but haven't studied martial arts for many years and want to get back into training. Where I currently live in the East Valley of AZ, there are no good kenpo schools. So I have decided to shift gears anyway and possibly start training in Wing Chun.

I've been really reading up on WC and I'm fascinated by the style now. It's concepts and theories are mindblowing, especially coming from a karate background. One of the key points of WC that really caught my attention was the lack of the choreographed memorized techniques! WC just seems to flow as to how you want to attack your opponent, which I like. It seems very offensive minded and not just necessarily defensive. I also like there are not a lot of forms, but I do understand you will continuously be perfecting and refining the few forms you do learn.

I have found a school located here:
Hung Fa Yi Arizona (http://www.hfyaz.com)

What I like about the school is it looks to have nice WC training equipment, including wooden dummies. I'd prefer to train at an actual school as opposed to someones home. I have visited a few instructors that either teach in their backyard or garage and that doesn't work for me, plus they seem to lack in proper equipment. Can anyone here vouch for above listed school or give an educated opinion otherwise?

Thank you...

Eric_H
01-10-2011, 10:17 PM
I can vouch for it, but I've been there since 2002, so I'm a little biased ;)

What do you wanna know?

Striker
01-10-2011, 10:28 PM
Hi Eric - Just want to know if the HFY kwoon provides quality instruction in WC. I'm picky in that regard as I consider myself a hardcore MA as I take my training very seriously.