PDA

View Full Version : Need help developing strength training routine

Opedus
01-18-2011, 07:04 AM
I've been doing kung fu for about 3 years now and will have to start fighting in the advanced division this spring for continuous sparring and possibly my first Lei Tai fight in the fall. I know there is no universal solution for strength training but I need some help developing a weight training routine to add some extra strength in. I am currently 5' 6" 158 lbs. I'm not uncomfortable fighting at this weight but I am also not lean. I plan to supplement the strength training with daily runs that alternate between HIIT sprints and LSB type runs. I was a power lifter for a short time in high school so I'm comfortable in the weight room, just need some guidance from some experienced members to get a routine together so that I am not training the completely wrong way.

sanjuro_ronin
01-18-2011, 07:32 AM
What do you want to develop?
How much time do you have to strength train?
Where will you be training and with what equipment?
Do you have any health issues ?

Got to be honest, 5'6 and 158 is probably "lean enough", what division do you WANT to fight in?
What is your natural weight?

Opedus
01-18-2011, 09:11 AM
What do you want to develop?
I need to be able to strike harder and not get muscled around so much mainly. Being short and stocky throws me in there with larger guys usually.

How much time do you have to strength train?
I can do about 30 minutes a day 6 days a week.

Where will you be training and with what equipment?
Full gym - free weights, machines, the normal range of cardio equipment and an open area with heavy bags.

Do you have any health issues ?
Asthmatic but it is seasonal; not exercise induced. Have a weak knee due to a football injury. The knee is more of an endurance issue than a strength issue. IE long periods of horse stance and not like a weighted squat.