PDA

View Full Version : To Rank,..or Not to Rank?

Daedalus
07-30-2001, 11:10 PM
Although, I have been training in the martial arts for over 17 years, it has never occurred to me to not issue rank in the style that I teach. I've always been of the opinion that the ranking system was for the purpose of guaging a student's progress while also giving them smaller obtainable goals on their way to black belt. I still feel this way, but now I am thinking about doing away with the rank structure in my class.

Why? Because I teach only adults and I don't see the need for giving them a new color of belt every 6 months or so. Most of them could care less about the rank, they just want to learn how to defend themselves and learn the art form.

My current rank system has 8 ranks in it; white to black. I am considering reducing it to 2 ranks; white and black.

Have any of you guys used this sort of rank structure before? If so,..how did it work?

joedoe
07-31-2001, 03:37 AM
I personally do not set any store in ranks, but if you find they help you to gauge a student's ability, then keep them. If you think your students couldn't care less, then get rid of them.

My advice is to keep the ranking system for those who want to rank, but do not require your students to grade so that those who don't care about rank don't have to test every 6 months.

cxxx[]:::::::::::>
What we do in life echoes in Eternity

SLC
07-31-2001, 02:37 PM
Interesting question. Like ABandit, I have made strong arguments in the past for no-color belts.

But one issue occurs to me when trying to imagine this a little from your point of view as a teacher, and some from mine as a student.

To me, there seems to be three general levels that could be used, rather than just two. Clearly there is an advanced level (black belt). But, I could see having an intermediate level, as well, that is separated from the beginner level.