PDA

View Full Version : Isshin-ryu Karate questions

Daedalus
08-08-2001, 10:35 PM
I used to train in Isshin-ryu karate about 6 years ago, but got away from the style and switched to Chinese kempo. However, recently, I have been reviewing the Isshin-ryu kata in order to prepare for promotion within the style.

I hold a 2nd Degree Black Belt in Isshin-ryu and am preparing for 3rd Degree. My problem lies in the fact that the instructor that I trained under had changed the traditional kata in order to make them more competitive at tournaments. Therefore, I have no idea as to how the forms are supposed to be performed.

Could someone offer some advice or a site where they might have the forms in video format?

:(

Piccolo Junior
08-08-2001, 11:06 PM
There is no such thing as "Chinese Kempo", Kempo is a generic Japanese term for martial arts, the equivalent of Chuan Fa in Chinese.

shog
08-09-2001, 02:54 PM
Sure there is such a thing...people have derivative styles all over the place...you would think that there is no such thing as Internal Karate or Chinese Goju Ryu or American Kung Fu...but there is.

Nowadays, all kinds of things are flourishing out there. That is what makes things so intriguing when you go hunting for a decent school or similar instructor in what you may have taken in the past, or if someone were looking to diversify their skills.

Budokan
08-09-2001, 05:51 PM
Go to barehands.com and check out the karate/isshinryu listings. It's pretty extensive and may have what you're looking for.

K. Mark Hoover

Daedalus
08-09-2001, 06:50 PM
To some extent, you are right. The term "kempo" is every bit as generic as "karate" or "kung fu". When I say "Chinese kempo" I am speaking broadly referring to the shaolin fighting methods that came from China and were adapted and practiced in the Ryu Kyu Islands before the Japanese screwed it up and turned it into karate.