PDA

View Full Version : having two sifus

shaolin_allan
03-06-2011, 02:54 PM
Hi everyone I am in a situation where I want to keep doing wing chun with a sifu a couple of days a week. I've been doing it off and on for six months now. I am also wanting to return to my previous sifu and continue the bagua training I had started years back. Has anyone else here been in the situation where you've had two sifus? Would you consider this a good idea or a bad one? Should I just pick one camp?

SanHeChuan
03-06-2011, 03:34 PM
I think its cool.

I've trained with multiple people at a time, off and on, since begining MA.

I know a (imo, good) Sifu who is a disciple of atleast two teachers, and regularly travels the country to train with others.

Violent Designs
03-06-2011, 03:51 PM
How "experienced" are you in either system?

From personal experience it is better to be a master of something than a jack of .... nothing. Not saying you can't cross-train (you should!!!) but I don't think Bagua and Wing Chun share any principles?

They might even have conflicting principles? Not sure, don't train either.

But I would honestly focus on getting on down straight before picking up another, at least this is just my opinion.

Now focusing on Wing Chun and grappling is something else.

shaolin_allan
03-06-2011, 07:30 PM
sanhechuan what styles were you practicing in and cross training at the time? Wing chun seems to have a lot of similar concepts as wudang systems so I was hoping itd be okay or to do like wing chun and xing yi. I used to do bagua for 2 years off and on but its also been a few years now since I trained in it. I've been doing the wing chun for six months.

Hebrew Hammer
03-06-2011, 07:35 PM
Sounds like a 70's love ballad...'Torn between two sifus...feeling like a fool...'

Grumblegeezer
03-06-2011, 08:47 PM