PDA

View Full Version : Is Aikido effective againts other styles?

don bohrer
11-06-2001, 01:49 AM
I would like some feed back on the effectiveness of Aikido. What is it's strenghts and weeknesses? How does it fare againts hard and soft styles in sparring or confrontations? If I understand it Aikido rarely participates in open tournamenst.

Cyborg
11-06-2001, 06:15 AM
Yes, I think that Aikido can be very effective. I have limited experience with it, and mostly in dealing with defense against the knife. Its strong point is using the opponents energy against him. Deflection and redirection.

I had good days and bad days with it. It seemed to depend mostly on my frame of mind.

"Box a fighter and fight a boxer". Bruce Lee

Stranger
11-06-2001, 05:27 PM
The term "aikido" represents a broad netwrok of related martial arts. Depending upon what period in Ueshiba's teachings your sensei's aikido is derived from, the aikido will have a certain flavor.

There are many aikidoka who can make their technique work against people from other styles.

There are many aikidoka who can't make their techniques work against people from other styles.

There are aikidoka that do not even train with such things in concern.

Make sure the aikido school you enter is of the type that you wish to train.

I don't get mad.
I get stabby.

shaolinboxer
11-06-2001, 05:42 PM
Strengths - as Stranger pointed out, I think it's real strength is in it's abiltily to adapt to the needs of the practitioner. At my dojo, there are people who practice with real marital intent, and people who like to waltz around through the techniques. Aikido allows (and forces) these different kinds of people to work together and learn about one another's methods, without judging which is "better".