PDA

View Full Version : Siu Lim Tao

kowloonboy
05-16-2011, 01:48 PM
Hi, I am new to the form, and I am looking for answer for these these questions. In the Siu Lim Tao form, can the Fook Sao be used as a strike for application, as I have tried this on the wall bag and I believe it looks like a crane strike? Also after Fak Sao (movement 101 to 102 of the form), we get into the double Lan Sao, I know that Fak Sao is a strike, but is there another application when get back to the Lan Sao? So after Fak Sao we strike outward, when we return back to Lan Sao, is this an application for ridge hand inward as a strike to the back of the head or something? Please advise.

YouKnowWho
05-16-2011, 03:54 PM
can the Fook Sao be used as a strike?

The WC 扶手(Fu Shou) is the same as the Mantis 刁手(Diao Shou). Both can be used for face striking.

kowloonboy
05-16-2011, 04:03 PM
The WC 扶手(Fu Shou) is the same as the Mantis 刁手(Diao Shou). Both can be used for face striking.

Thanks. I have been trying to use Fu Shou on the wall bag, and I can see that it can be a strike. :) And after you have confirm that Diao Shou in Mantis is actually a strike, I can see that I can keep practicing the same technique as a strike. Thanks mate. :)

Lee Chiang Po
05-16-2011, 07:39 PM
fook sao is not a strike.

Phil Redmond
05-16-2011, 07:39 PM
NEVER use a fuhk sao for striking. Fuhk means control. Not strike. You can break the bones in the back of the hand if you strike with it. Now I know that some martial arts do it but they have problems with their hand when they get older. I know because my Okinawan Sensei couldn't even thread a needle because of his hand training.

YouKnowWho
05-16-2011, 07:45 PM
You can break the bones in the back of the hand if you strike with it.