PDA

View Full Version : Gaun sao / Jum sao

k gledhill
05-24-2011, 09:24 PM
I'm trying to steer away from my way versus your way, or more superior, less superior etc...and simply get down to techniques in your system and ..missing from your system. I have been shown jum sao as a strike utilizing the inner arm on the centerline as the arm strikes forwards in one flowing action, not one , two. I know some use it as a block for tan...

I can start by saying the system I started learning under a direct student of Yip Man , who was a large man , taller than most Chinese, didnt have the jum sao in his methods and adopted gaun sao punches as a primary low section parry with strikes. The SLT did not contain jum sao in the latter 3 rd section .
Now My current instructors , instructor also a direct student of Yip Man , but of somewhat smaller stature is the opposite, with Jum sao being a cornerstone of the striking systems elbow unity of Tan sao and Jum sao. And also using gaun sao. Both Jum and gaun in 3rd section of SLT.

One system develops a completely different fighter from the other. Focus in chi-sao different, for the lack of jum striking , wu wrist blocking. Centerlines dictate hand positions in one , cnterline dictates wrists in the other...subtle shift but worlds apart.

I found this article I have seen before while learning the first method with gaun sao. It refers to the jum sao and gaun sao. The Jum sao has been , imo, eliminated from use by several lineages/teachers I have come across over the last 25 years. Leading me to wonder how its removal has 'changed' the system as mentioned in the article from a sophisticated striking angling fighting system, to a more commonly seen method of block and strike with blasting punches. read on :

~