PDA

View Full Version : Conditioning and taking blows

Mr. Nemo
04-28-2001, 11:04 PM
I saw someone mention on the internal arts board that part of his training was cardio-style conditioning that allowing him to take more hits and keep fighting.

Now, I understand that cardio allows you to fight longer and harder and so on, but is it in any way possible to condition your "chin"? Aside from learning what it feels like to get hit, will a lot of endurance training allow you to take hits to the head and not get dazed or KO'd or anything? The guy on the internal arts board didn't claim his training did this, but I've seen people say this in other places, that such and such was able to take all those hits to the head because of "superior conditioning" (most of these related to boxing in some way).

Is this possible?

joedoe
04-29-2001, 03:05 AM
Well, from what I understand (and I am no expert) but you can get used to getting hit in the head. I guess this is considered conditioning. However, a good solid blow to the head in the right place will probably knock most people out regardless of conditioning - simple physical reaction I guess.

-------------------------------------
You have no chance to survive - make your time.

Can-O-Bud
04-29-2001, 09:44 AM
I posted a thread about this topic before.

I really am of the opinion that you shouldnt take too many blows to the head. My instructor always said this too.

I'm sure you can condition yourself to take hits and keep on fighting, but how long can you do this for? What if you've trained every week for 20 years?

What are the lasting effects?

"My twa boab"

SevenStar
05-01-2001, 09:08 AM