PDA

View Full Version : Kung Fu and Qi Gong

mjharper
06-08-2011, 09:44 AM
I sometimes suffer with anxiety (social anxiety) and have recently started Kung Fu and Qi Gong. Do you think in time these activities can alleviate anxiety - I always feel great after training - I've also started running about 4x a week

thanks

Mike

donjitsu2
06-09-2011, 11:16 AM
Yes.

Beer also helps with social anxiety.

vociferor
06-10-2011, 11:56 PM
Is the source of your anxiety a lack of confidence?

bawang
06-11-2011, 12:46 AM
doing squats have cured my social anxiety disorder

Hebrew Hammer
06-11-2011, 12:49 AM
The only real answer is how you are feeling...

Although I'm not a psychotherapist, I work in the mental health field, anxiety is fear...often very intense fear. By taking Kung Fu and Chi Kung you are addressing this condition on all accounts, you are doing something social in a safe setting. You are improving your fitness, your martial skill (presumably), and this in turn should develop your confidence in yourself and in social settings.

I also believe the body craves physical activity, you are rewarding this, and probably firing off some endorphins which will help improve your mood. Lastly, Chi Kung can be somewhat meditative and relaxing in nature...and again one would think it will help your anxiety.

Scott R. Brown
06-11-2011, 03:15 AM
A bit of introspection will help you discover what it is about social encounters that trigger your anxiety. Most likely it was a pattern or series of events that created the unease at the beginning.

When we encounter circumstances we interpret them according to our past experiences with similar circumstances. Fear/anxiety is interpreting a circummstance as a danger to our self. That danger in your case, accoording to your report, is social. It is likely you seek social acceptance, and have not received it in the past. So you are reasonably cautious in social circumstances.