PDA

View Full Version : Neck bridges are bad for your spine - Fact or speculation?

Sardinkahnikov
07-08-2011, 06:34 AM
Hi.

Sorry, I couldn't find any olds threads on this subject.

http://www.drdarden.com/forum_images/412117.1139170635924.mb-062.jpg

I've been doing a little online research to see if I can come across any substancial evidence that neck bridges are actually bad for your spine on the long run. Most of what I've found is just forum and youtube bickering.

I know that this exercises is important in grappling arts, but can someone here shed some light on whether it is hazardous to your vertebrae?

donjitsu2
07-08-2011, 07:39 AM
Hi.

I know that this exercises is important in grappling arts, but can someone here shed some light on whether it is hazardous to your vertebrae?

For the absolute beginner full neck bridges could be problematic to the cervical spine simply because they lack the strength in their neck musculature.

However, no one starts off with full neck bridges anyway. Virtually every learns the drill by using their hands to help support them, thus minimizing the pressure on the cervical spine. Over time the muscles of the neck get stronger and trainees need to rely on support less and less.

So, they aren't as dangerous as they may initially seem. In fact, I can see why they are beneficial to many, especially those who spend most of their day sitting:

http://www.clubsatcrp.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/Sitting.png

Sitting all day places the spine in a position that is the exact opposite of neck bridge. The problem isn't so much the position itself but, rather, how much time is spent in it. Holding that flexed spinal position for so much time places a lot of stress on the individual discs in our spine - particularly in the Lumbar spine. Overtime they can "dry out" (because they aren't getting the sinovial fluid they need) and they can even start to shift or bulge out - not a good thing.