PDA

View Full Version : Evolution of you: why and how

SPJ
07-19-2011, 08:17 AM
over time, we change or modify or "improve" whatever we are doing/practicing.

what trigger these changes?

your personal experiences?

why?

and how?

:)

sanjuro_ronin
07-19-2011, 08:20 AM
Experience pretty much is the catalyst for me.
Over the centuries (LOL) experience in training and competition and real world has dictated to ME, WHAT I train, HOW I train and WHEN I train.

My training is NOT the same it was 30 years ago, or 20 or 10.
The core is stil the same because I believe in training to our strengths WHILE NOT neglecting our weaknesses ( we are only as good as our weakest link).
Over the millenium ( LOL) I have found what I do best, what I am most natural at and I build from there and around there.
I don't add anymore, I "chip away" at what I no longer need.

SPJ
07-19-2011, 08:25 AM
I started learning shuai jiao and tan tui in kids hood.

in high school, I learned mantis. at the time, there were many kuo shu clubs in Taiwan. They almost all were teaching mantis.

I found the handwork and footwork are kind of too busy or too many variants for me. I was in my teen.

I asked my teachers for something easier or not so busy to do.

to have a good structure, and developing more whole body power. I was introduced ba Ji. I had to stand in low stances for long time. and practice body kao with bags.

to have a speedy or snappy and crispy moves, I was introduced tong bei, you swing your arms fast and faster. in order to do more and more fast moves, I practice relaxation drills all over the body, especially the shoulder and chest/back

--

after a while, I love ba ji and tong bei too much.

even thou I love mantis, too.

but I just practice or do more ba ji and tong bei ever since.

--

in mantis, you have to practice to have a strong forearm and grips/hooks.

--

David Jamieson
07-19-2011, 08:34 AM