PDA

View Full Version : Teaching people who are already experienced in a sport art

SavvySavage
07-26-2011, 06:32 AM
Do you guys find it hard to teach people with experience in hard hitting sport arts? I taught a guy once who had been studying Thai boxing since he was a kid. At his school they spar twice a week. At my school we spar sporadically.

I admit that I was a bit intimidated by his experience. He was very humble and always wanted to study Chinese martial arts. I find that complete newbs are wowed by tcma but experienced students get bored quick.

How could teaching si lum Tao, stances, and gate theory compare with classes where you hit daily and spar constantly? Like I said so far he is humble but I just don't believe that tcma training compares, in terms of being fun and engaging, with other sport arts.

What's a good way of teaching beginners who aren't beginners? The military does this by breaking you down and building you up. Some martial arts teachers have that attitude but I don't agree that you have to intimidate people to get them to learn.

Taixuquan99
07-26-2011, 07:12 AM
Do you guys find it hard to teach people with experience in hard hitting sport arts? I taught a guy once who had been studying Thai boxing since he was a kid. At his school they spar twice a week. At my school we spar sporadically.

I admit that I was a bit intimidated by his experience. He was very humble and always wanted to study Chinese martial arts. I find that complete newbs are wowed by tcma but experienced students get bored quick.

How could teaching si lum Tao, stances, and gate theory compare with classes where you hit daily and spar constantly? Like I said so far he is humble but I just don't believe that tcma training compares, in terms of being fun and engaging, with other sport arts.