PDA

View Full Version : When will the hurting stop?

pain_junkie
05-01-2001, 11:15 PM
Just a quick question about training; I'm not in very good shape, and I just started studying kung fu. The workouts are kicking my a$$ severely. That's okay, because I totally expected them to, and I totally love the feeling. The only down side is that my classes are twice a week and it takes me four days to fully sleep off the effects of one class. That means that if I work out on Monday night I'll stop hurting Friday morning, which is GREAT...except that I work out again on Wednesday night. =) So how long does it take to cut down on recovery time. I don't want to EVER work out and not feel a bit of a burn the next day, but I'm also looking forward to being able to be 100% for the next practice...

premier
05-02-2001, 01:17 AM
Hmm. You can reduce the soreness a lot by cooling down properly. Stretch and stuff. Read http://www.enteract.com/~bradapp/docs/rec/stretching/ for details. Read it carefully.

On my opinion 4 days of soreness isn't normal unless you have done some psychotic training.

premier
05-02-2001, 01:21 AM
I've had 5 days, but that was really psychotic... =)

It's nice to hear you enjoy your training.

Budokan
05-02-2001, 01:24 AM
Here's the bad news: It never stops hurting.

Here's the good news: It's more than worth it in the long run.

Gee, ain't MA fun?

K. Mark Hoover

pain_junkie
05-02-2001, 04:48 AM
hehehe...just reminded me of what the guys in my school say. Whenever the workout is kicking my butt, they say "Don't worry man. It gets worse. " =)

joedoe
05-02-2001, 04:52 AM
I found that eventually the pains eases, but it never really goes away :(

-------------------------------------
You have no chance to survive - make your time.

dunbarj01
05-02-2001, 05:01 AM
The serious pain stopped after 3 months. This was the period when I would praise escalators and curse stairs.