PDA

View Full Version : Adapting your wing chun based on fight experience

IRONMONK
09-12-2011, 03:41 AM
I've trained WT (4 yrs EWTO and 4 yrs Hong Kong WT) so I'm not a beginner. I haven't been training WT for a while mainly due to Instructors taking advantage and more interested in making money. I've tried various wing chun clubs and lineages and they don't seem to provide what I'm looking for. I'm not interested in sport fighting but I'm not afraid to add techniques and strategies from other combat sports to help me defend myself on the street.

I've had few situations when I had to defend myself on the street without getting hurt but found some limitations.

Footwork- the 100-0 footwork(front leg pulling back leg)limits you ability to move around effectively against an opponent who doesn't want to get hit. Change to a natural 50-50 footwork and pushing off back foot
Punching power-hit someone (much bigger than me) by stepping into him with my body and it just shocked him but never really done any damage. Add power to the punch with boxing mechanics(planting feet and body rotation)
Clinch work-Found myself in a clinch position with my both hands on my opponent neck but didn't know how to effectively finish him off. Look at thai boxing to get familiar with that situation.
Variety in punching: Add hooks and uppercuts and body shots because chain punching is limited.

Some of this I've realised before but In the past I thought it was a case of me needing to train harder to make the WT work. I will still be using the concepts of WT like centreline teory closing the gap, destroying balance etc

Have you guys adapted your WC based on fight experience and trial and error etc?
When a technique/strategy doesn't work do you discard it or do you to practise it more to make it work?

wingchunIan
09-12-2011, 01:12 PM