PDA

View Full Version : Chinese Lock?

Sil Lum Palm
07-01-2001, 12:25 PM
I have been studying Chin Na for a few months now and I have been looking into the many ways to make the hands and wrists stronger Someone in my Kwoon suggested buying a "chinese lock". I know what it is , however I have no earthly idea where to find a chinese lock! Is there any good Martial Arts supply stores that would carry them? My friend suggested asking someone from Wah Lum, but I didn't see any on their site so I'm still searching. Any help would be appreciated. Also, maybe I can make one, any ideas?

shaolinboxer
07-01-2001, 08:05 PM
What are you trying to find?

joedoe
07-02-2001, 04:07 AM
Are you talking about the weights that look like a Chinese lock?

cxxx[]:::::::::::>
What we do in life echoes in Eternity

Sil Lum Palm
07-02-2001, 04:50 AM
Yes these are weights that look like a chinese lock. They are made of metal and you throw them in the air and do wrist exercises with them. It allmost looks lke on of the old metal irons. I believe Dr. Yang Jwing Ming mentions it in his books, and I also read it in a book on Ngo Cho Kun, but I never really considered it until it was suggested by a friend. I figured it must work well.

joedoe
07-02-2001, 06:20 AM
My teacher made his own, but one of my sihings also happens to be a metal worker so that made it easier.

Have you done any partnered exercises to strengthen your wrists?

UberShaman
07-02-2001, 06:34 AM
kettlebells will work

Sil Lum Palm
07-02-2001, 03:50 PM