PDA

View Full Version : Question about a Boston Hung Gar school.

HaiAn817
02-13-2012, 06:36 AM
Anyone on here know anything about this school: http://hunggarboston.com/? I visited it last week and it seemed legit. Only thing is the sifu lives far away, 2 hours, and only comes in once a week. They do have senior students, instructor and sifu level they called it, teaching classes. I talked with one of the sifu level guy and he seemed to know what he was saying but then again I am fairly new to the whole CMA thing so I wouldn't be able to spot BS as good. Any info would be great, thanks.

brothernumber9
02-13-2012, 08:40 AM
It is fairly common that the Sifu teach the instructors who in turn teach the beginning students, and as the student progresses would likely have more and more interaction directly with the Sifu.

I don't study Hung Ga, but have been around long enough to recognise it when I see it. This school sports the Lam Jo insignia, one of the most prominant lineages globally in Hung Ga that come from the Wong Fei Hung line, so I would assume they are from that branch of Hung Ga. This doesn't automatically validate the school or teacher, but is at least an initial indication that they are more likely than not an honest traditional Hung Ga school. Just the same 2 hrs is a hell of a hike. If you are dead set on HG, and nothing is closer, then give it a shot, and if they require contracts, see if you can have some sort of adjustment made since you are traveling so far. Hopefully you end up finding something more convenient, but best of luck to you.

TenTigers
02-13-2012, 10:42 AM
two hours isn't far. I made that trip on a weekly basis, often coming back at 2:00am.
(well, after stopping at Noodletown or Yummy Noodles for, "Sum-yea Jook!";-)

Subitai
02-13-2012, 11:46 AM
I can vouch for Sifu Winchell Ping Chiu Woo to the best of my knowledge. (not that he needs it)