PDA

View Full Version : Deadlift Help

IronFist
07-09-2001, 08:50 AM
Ok, this is pìssing me off now. I know that some people here have been deadlifting for a long time, so maybe you guys can help me.

Alright. Of the "three big lifts," I've been doing Bench and Squat since I started lifting weights. However, until I read PTP a few weeks ago, I had never done a deadlift before. Here's where I get pìssed.

Tonight, I was deadlifting (regular stance) 135. Yeah, that's right. One bloody plate on each side, and after 5 reps, my lower back was sore as hell, like I had just done 1,000,000 hyperextensions. What's up with that? I can squat a ton more than 135, so why can't I DL that much?

Even weirder, is that if I do Sumo style deadlifts, I'm fine and there's no soreness at all. I can teach clients to deadlift, and they have no problem either. I just can't do regular stanced DLs. I've even had 2 powerlifters check my form, and they find nothing wrong. Is my lower back just really weak (despite never being sore ever, for any other exercise, even heavy squats?) or is my body just not proportioned for regular deadlifts.

Input, please.

Iron

dumog93
07-09-2001, 06:07 PM
I got real sore for the first month across my lower back when changing from sumo to conventional deadlifting.Of course part of this was getting my form down with the change and dropping the weight down again.It's been three months now since i changed over and i'm getting my legs under me more and using my lower back a little less.I've probably also built up my lower back a little more.It seems to me conventional requires a bit more in the way of back muscles to get good pulls.Maybe as your back gets used to it and you get your legs under you(if that's even the problem) things will smooth out.I'm almost caught up to my sumo all time best,except with conventional i don't get the big pressure to the side of my knees that was causing me problems.

good luck,

Devildog

UberShaman
07-09-2001, 08:10 PM