PDA

View Full Version : Evolutionary history of martial arts

ghostexorcist
07-29-2012, 06:47 PM
Many people on here (including myself) like to research the history of martial arts. Considering that my major is physical anthropology with an emphasis on primatology, I would like to write a paper that traces the actual evolutionary origins of martial arts. While doing some preliminary research, I came upon this article on the subject (http://nateb11.hubpages.com/hub/How-Human-Evolution-Allowed-for-the-Development-of-Martial-Arts). Overall, it’s not bad. They cover issues like bipedalism, the opposable thumb, and our large brains, but it doesn't go deep enough in my opinion. It doesn’t explore the reasons for these adaptations, or other things like primate social behavior and tool use, the origins of hunting weapons and their adaption for war, conflicts between early human species, or the need to further develop martial skills to protect settlements.

Primatologists study chimpanzees because their lives are believed to parallel that of our common ape-like ancestor who lived around 7 million years ago. I believe studying them helps us to understand the origins of martial arts too. For instance, young chimps like to wrestle. This helps them to hone the skills they use to protect their communities and territories as adults. This might also explain why wrestling is one of the oldest and most prevalent martial arts. They are also known to attack enemies with sticks and rocks. See this video for an example:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xVHBm2Q-oM&feature=related