PDA

View Full Version : weights training for my younger brother

ged
10-04-2001, 02:12 AM
hey everyone.

ok, my brother alex is 12. he wants to do weights, because he sees me doing them. ive given him a few goes on the benchpress, but im not sure how productive this will be before he hits puberty?

so i have a few questions.

1) when he hits puberty in a few years, should he do weights, or maybe pushups and situps? what about before then?

2) what kind of foods should i get him on? when i was young, i ate heats of junk food. i had a good metabolism or something, so i didnt get fat, but i had pretty much zero muscle. alex has a different bodytype, he has a little gut (lol) but definitely thicker arms than i had back then. probably mostly fat, but theres more muscle too. so should i help him cut down fats? any foods he should go on? maybe a lot of milk?

thanks for any advice, or website links.

SevenStar
10-04-2001, 03:59 AM
I started lifting when I was 13. It was not heavy lifting - high reps, many sets, whole body. I did this twice a week. Pushups and other bodyweight exercises should be fine for him. As far as eating is concerned, just keep him eating healthy. At his age, I wouldn't get all picky with his diet.

"You ain't got enough calcium to have a bone to pick wit me,
like a Gracie, I'll choke a ***** out wit his own gi" - Rass Kass

ShaolinTiger00
10-04-2001, 03:01 PM
There is nothing wrong with your lil' bro working out with weights at that age. I started at 12 as well. (7th grade -jr. high.)

Also I think the weight training may make him feel and look better if he is shy or uncomfortable about being "husky" -I had the same thing going on at that time and by 9th grade the baby fat dropped off and I was much stronger than most people in my school. (my coach was amazingly supportive and buit a great program for me.)