PDA

View Full Version : Dart Choi Spinning Back Fist

Sambo
11-04-2012, 06:00 AM
One of my favorite techniques in clf! I just started training again at home going over some of the basic punches, the dart takes some getting used to but can be very effective in a fight as i've seen.

when do you guys teach it, beginner/intermediate, how long before it's taught?

is it part of many forms? i know it's in the sa bow jong set?

any other chinese styles have this?

i think i read once that it was created to defeat short hand styles? anyone know the history of the dart?

& how do you train it, combos? any tips for training it?

anyone here used it or seen it used effectively?

discuss?

jdhowland
11-04-2012, 09:13 AM
The da cheui is synonymous with bin cheui or flailing strike. It is used in a lot of styles.

A good use in CLF is striking ribs or solar plexus in a takedown move. I like to train this combo:

Your partner steps in with a left lead and attacks. Deal with the attack anyway you can while stepping outside and behind his lead foot with your right. If you arrive while he is still stepping it becomes a foot sweep. If he has already settled, you use your leg to trap him in place while the da cheui knocks him backward. You can simultaneously drag his foot forward (your crossover stance) to unbalance him with the strike.

Da cheui is a fan sau technique, meaning that it moves away from your center, so the fist first has to be brought down or across your chest. This preparatory move is also a strike. I practice by keeping it very close to the body, grazing my ribs all the way, but in use it can be a kidney strike with the knuckles scraping the opponent's ribs (further unbalancing) befort the da cheui flails out.

hskwarrior
11-04-2012, 09:19 AM
but in use it can be a kidney strike with the knuckles scraping the opponent's ribs (further unbalancing) befort the da cheui flails out.

this is my choice. but the fist scraping the kidneys first is a wang kup choy i believe.