PDA

View Full Version : Lifting Weights?

Sambo
11-12-2012, 05:45 AM
anyone here into lifting weights? what are you're opinions on weights & martial arts?

I've heard that it's not so good as it can tighten you up & make you stiff? I have felt this at times but i think it can have a lot of positives too.

I used to lift when i was younger but was never too serious about it. This year i got back into it, a lot more serious/disciplined with my nutrition & training program. I've had some good results after about 8 months of eating healthier & only 4 months of lifting. A few weeks ago i started training some clf basics everyday for some extra cardio & got motivated to start training again soon. The clf has been killing my legs, shoulders, upper back & traps though, been hard to recover hopefully my body will adapt soon.

Can see even more results from the extra clf training & also from the twisting of the waist working the core.

they should make a clf training dvd infomercial for the fatties:D. seriously though out of the few MA i've tried clf is a killer workout! all the long arms, twisting of the waist & marching stances.

any KF guys you know that were serious with the weights?

the Hung gar Chiu family seemed to be into it. Bruce wasn't really big but was ripped as...

Is there certain styles that would be more suited for a built guy? eg. would the shorter hand styles like bak mei be better?

btw i'm not talking a juice head build, although shawn ray had one of the best bodies imo. I'm 5'9", so would like to be about 85-90kg/190-200lb at around 10% body fat.

sanjuro_ronin
11-12-2012, 06:42 AM
Weighting training and MA have gone together since the down of times.
Being strong is always important in ANY MA and in everyday life.
The issue is that far too many people with incomplete knowledge associate weight training with body building.
That is incorrect.