PDA

View Full Version : Hua Quan 華拳 Question

TopCrusader
03-11-2013, 07:15 PM
It is my understanding that 'Hua' can refer to "Flowery Fist", Hua (the Mountain Range) as well has being a term for China in general.

So, how can one distinguish between somebody using "Hua Quan" and meaning a general term for "Chinese Fist" or referring specifically to Hua Quan the northern Longfist style? Or am i mistaken and Hua Quan is never used as a general/generic term for Chinese Fist?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huaquan

Thanks!

MarathonTmatt
06-13-2013, 10:30 PM
Hi- I am a student training in the Hua Quan longfist style. As I understand it, saying Hua Quan "China Fist" as a generic term for Chinese martial arts and also being a specific style is BOTH correct. Which is why it's a bit confusing. Usually, when referring to Hua Quan with the Chinese characters you wrote, then one is referring to a specific style- "Hua Quan- Glorious/Splendorous (synonymous with the word Chinese) Fist, aka the fist of Hua Mountain (its perceived general place of origin), aka "Kung Fu of Essence," this is the style referred to that was practiced in Shandong Province by the Cai family for countless generations. So the traditional system is also an old family style. Grandmaster Cai Long Yun is a famous martial artist of this style, and Vice-chairman of the Chinese Wushu Assoc.