PDA

View Full Version : mantis documentary comparing taiwan and mainland

xiao yao
06-01-2013, 07:21 AM
http://www.monkeystealspeach.co.uk/mantis-documentary.php

I think I remember someobody on this forum saying they trained with the Taiwan master on this - Yang Feng Shi. Was it you Richard?

mooyingmantis
06-01-2013, 09:18 AM

I think I remember someobody on this forum saying they trained with the Taiwan master on this - Yang Feng Shi. Was it you Richard?

Yang Xiaodong is my shifu.

Thanks for linking this! Can't wait to watch it!

Kymus
06-01-2013, 09:50 AM
looking forward to this, thanks!

mooyingmantis
06-01-2013, 01:29 PM
After watching the video, I would say that the gentleman from Taiwan practices a much more traditional method than the man from the Mainland.

Though the man from the Mainland seemed to claim Hao family lineage, his movements were definitely influenced by the Yu Hai flavor of mantis. Which is very different from the Hao family mantis that I studied in Qingdao.

The gentleman from Taiwan only gives credit to Li Kunshan for bringing mantis to Taiwan. Though I believe other mantis practitioners preceded Master Li's arrival in Taiwan. So, take his history with a measure of salt. :)

Thank you for sharing this with us Will! It was a very interesting program. Is it available for download?

YouKnowWho
06-01-2013, 01:53 PM

If 2,3 is faster than 1,2,3 then do you think the 1,2,3 combo used at 26.10 can be simplified as 2,3 by skipping step 1?

Of course you may have to take more risk because your back hand is away from your opponent's attacking arm (compare to your leading arm). It's always safter to intersect your opponent's attack by your leading arm (because it's closer) than your back arm. But the speed increase can be great.