PDA

View Full Version : How parishable are wing chun skills?

ZenMindT
06-12-2013, 06:12 PM
I've been training WC for just over 7 years, and in that time never missed training for more than a week or two at time, and that was very few and far between.

I've had to stop training for about 6 months due to unforeseen circumstances, and I'm not sure how long before I will return. I was just wonder just how perishable wing chun skills like sensitivity and reactivity are. I've rolled w/ guys that said that hadn't trained in while and they still had skills. But is it like riding a bike, where you never really forget? I do my best by doing SNT and empty jong (don't have a jong since i live in an apartment building :( ) but how fast will my touch sensitivity and reflexes diminish? I'm pretty sure my forearm conditioning is shot, and I will pretty much have to start over w/that.

Who out there has had to take long sabbaticals from training, and how did it effect your WC?

Thanks

YouKnowWho
06-12-2013, 06:22 PM
Old TCMA saying said, "If you don't spar/wrestle for 3 days, your arms and legs will no longer be yours." Your judgement, timing will be off. There will be a delay between your brain tells you body what to do and your body respond to it. Of course this assume that you are at your prime.

You should alway try to take advantage on using your "scrap time" for solo training such as watching TV, walk on the street, go to bathroom, ... if you do treat TCMA training as your highest priority in your life.

anerlich
06-12-2013, 06:26 PM
I believe the old TCMA saying to be incorrect. You will be sharper with daily practice, but IMO you retain skills at a usable level a fair bit longer than just a few days.

If this were not the case, I'd be looking for a method where the skill level dropoff were not so precipitous.

ZenMindT
06-12-2013, 07:57 PM