PDA

View Full Version : A question for the long time practitioners of MA.

Jeff Liboiron
11-17-2001, 08:57 AM
I've only been studying wing chun for about 6 months and practice a lot.

I was wondering how it was for the long time practitioners. Do you practice more, the same or not as much as you used to?

The object is not to hurt someone else, but to stop them from hurting you

soy
11-17-2001, 09:16 AM
I can tell you what people who train with me tell me. I have no first hand experience in wing chun though.

Both of the people I train with no longer train wing chun. They believe that it is a great art, but is simply incompatible with real fighting.

There is some talk that perhaps the non hong kong version of the art could posess some more valuable techniques. Also, there was some speculation that perhaps the super advanced level stuff tought by masters of the art could also be effective.

The general opinion, however. Is that most Wing Chun practitioners fall under these catagories:

a) Overly ego-ridden. Unable to teach, can't stop talking about how cool they are.

b) Semi-humble, but still arrogant. They don't realise the weaknesses of their art.

or

c) Decided that wing chun was a good supplement, and had some valuable techniques. But ultimately decided that it alone was just not good enough to effectively fight.

I've heard talk that many of the people who claim to be masters of wing chun are full of it. Which isnt suprising. This is true for all martial arts. Especially in america.

My personal opinion, from seeing wing chun people fight is that it is a pretty good art. But it wouldent stand up to muay thai, bjj, or shaolin kung fu.

Just opinions though! Don't bother flaming, I don't even read them.

Ryu
11-17-2001, 10:39 AM
Well sir, I can't answer anything about Wing Chun because I'm a judo/BJJ/JKD guy... but I can at least tell you what I've noticed with myself.