PDA

View Full Version : Wrestling sprawls..WTF then?

straight blast
11-19-2001, 01:22 PM
Ok, I'm getting the hang of this whole sprawl thing...my question? What the hell do you do once you're in this position? I have NO groundfighting experience at all, so please don't use big words :D
I'm racking my brain for workable ideas, but from a striking perspective (usually my perspective) there really doesn't seem to be a great deal of options.
Let the education begin! :cool:

"Forfeit the game
Before somebody else takes you out of the frame
And puts your name to shame
Cover up your face
You can't run the race
The pace is too fast,
You just won't last!"

KnightSabre
11-19-2001, 01:40 PM
Once you have sprawled on your apponent you are left with quite a few options.
You can go for the bread basket choke or cross face.You can also strike with your knees or elbows.
You can spin to his side or even take his back.
It's important that you keep your hips driving him against the floor,if you give him any space he can escape easily.
There are also a number of escapes one can use to get out from under the sprawl.

"You're Good Kid Real Good,But As Long As I'm Arround You'll Always Be Second Best See".

Mr. Nemo
11-19-2001, 05:11 PM
If you wanna strike standing up, then after you sprawl, just stand up.

Of course, if you sprawled well, you're in a good position. You can punch him from that position, or knee him. Knees do a lot of damage, but they leave you vulnerable in some ways by taking away one of the limbs you can post on, and making your base weaker.

If you wanna keep the fight standing up, though, you can just stand up off of him after you sprawl.

Jaguar Wong
11-19-2001, 06:44 PM