PDA

View Full Version : met and trained with a JKD guy yesterday.

LEGEND
11-19-2001, 09:53 PM
Well this is kind unusual...I have met and trained with several JKD type guys but never one focused on the original jun fan system. It's very interesting...there's a guy...RICK that works as the kickboxing( thai bo type ) class at OLYMPUS GYM...Yamasaki's BJJ is there also...anywayz. Rick and I started training slightly...Rick is a short black man...but his JKD is very very similar to the way BRUCE moves. The description is like this...linear attacks...kicks are linear...side kicks...oblique kicks...spinning back kick( with control )...hook kick with lead leg only...his punches were a mix of boxing, fencing and involved some wing chun trapping. I was very impressed...what impress me the most is this speed and non telegraphic attacks...he would feint once and straight blast( chain punch ) in and then I'm SHOCKED! Very different from the WILLIAM CHEUNG wing chun approach and THAI BOXING approach I learned. All are self defense applicable but I'm still a GRAPPLER by heart. LOL.

A

Buhma
11-19-2001, 10:54 PM
Did you spar? If so, did you try to do a takedown? Just wondering how effective it is with the ground game?

<hr>
If ya ain't got the skills, I will take you out!

LEGEND
11-19-2001, 11:22 PM
I didn't spar him...
But I'll be honest...
if it was a street fight...
I would get annilated!
Why???
No. 1...
he's street oriented...
he does having boxing experience and power when I was holding the PAD...
the main thing is that unlike BOXING or THAI BOXING...
his approach is linear...
he goes through u...
the main thing is it's all applicable for street fighting scenario...
he advocates...
for example...your zone of fighting...