PDA

View Full Version : Ip Man Wing Chun?

Pages : [1] 2 3

nautavac
06-15-2014, 08:19 PM
I am new to the W/C forum. I am also very amazed at the various documentaries and movies that show W/C techniques. My question is this, how does one learn Wing Chun, of the Ip Man variety if such does exist, in an area such the Lexington Ky area? I would also like to understand why there are no teachers that appear on any of the web searches that I have done as well, but I suspect this is due to an abundance of factors. Anyhow, I am tired of playing around with some the techniques that I have seen through these sources and have a real desire to learn wing chun, but no one to learn from!:mad: Can anyone suggest or know of someone, regardless of whether or not they have a brick and mortar school, that comes from an identifiable lineage and would take on me and my children as students? Thank you for your replies and I am in the Somerset, Kentucky area.

HybridWarrior
06-16-2014, 06:23 AM
You can also try ewingchun.com And the wing chun forum over at Martial Talk. I know there is a guy over there who teaches in the area you mentioned. Good luck.

Almost A Ghost
06-16-2014, 09:41 AM
Looks like they may not be any schools listed in your area. However, I strongly suggest you e-mail/call the nearest schools as they may know of someone who is teaching privately (i.e. they are not interested in dealing with the random person just poking around martial arts schools) or may have a senior student who may live relatively close to you and may be interested in teaching.

Good luck in your search.

JPinAZ
06-16-2014, 12:18 PM
Depending how badly you want to learn, you may have to travel some. After a few quick google searches, I see some clubs/schools in both Knoxville and Bowling Green by searching each of those cities and 'wing chun'. I know this isn't ideal, but I've known people to travel over 100 miles each way to learn MA's when there is nothing near by.