PDA

View Full Version : Grand Master SB Moon Chul Sa jang Exercise video review

boxerbilly
01-22-2015, 10:25 AM
Hi Guys. I decided to post this in this forum as I believe Kuk Sool and Hapkido are close to one another I felt those here may appreciate it the most.

Not sure if any can recall GrandMaster S. B. Moon. He was in a couple of articles in the early 80's. I'll post one I recently found for reference to this review. He also sold 2 videos. One on Chul Sa Jang and the other a self defense video based on Kuk Sool.

I only purchased the exercise video.

On the video, it begins with basic warm ups that much if not all was in the ITF I studied. One difference was that towards the end of that section he teaches a couple of stretches as isometrics. These are not like Pavel and Kurtz. More visualization/belief type isometrics. I've never seen these before. I tried one of them and there may be merit to it.

Again, for the most part typical Korean MA warm up as I experienced. Right down to the standing on the stomach and partner stretches, etc.

Next GM Moon, demos 2 or 3 internal exercises. I believe this are not actually Chul Sa Jang and Iwas never taught these in ITF.

Then he demos the Chul Sa Jang exercises. Finally he does them with his class.

Anyone familiar with Harry Wongs Dynamic Tension/ Dynamic Strength video/book or Chinese Tension Sets
will understand how the Internal and Chul Sa Jang exercises are to be performed.

Instruction wise I give it a 7. GM Moon is a bit hard to understand and it is hard to figure out when one is to inhale and exhale at the proper points. This has to do with overdubbing timing being off unless I am just to dull to understand him. I personally am used to breath in on the pulls and exhale on the pushes.